Please Share If You Like This News

Buffer Digg Facebook Google LinkedIn Pinterest Print Reddit StumbleUpon Tumblr Twitter VK Yummly

More than 80 aggrieved canddiates on Monday submitted petitions to the election commission challenging the cancellation of their nomination by returning officers during Sunday is scrutiny, reports UNB. - A home for your website

BNP aspirants Mir Mohammad Nasiruddin (from Chattogram-5), Golam Maula Rony (Patuakhali-3), Khandaker Abu Ashfaq (Dhaka-1) and Abdul Wadud Bhuiyan (Khagrachhari), Gano Forum aspirant Reza Kibira (Habiganj-1) and independent candidate Hero Alam (Bogura-4) were among those who filed the petitions.

A total of 82 applications were submitted with the EC on the first day. Of the petitions, 81 were filed against the rejection of nomination papers, while one was against the acceptance of nomination paper, according to the EC file.

The EC, which also has the appellate jurisdiction, will receive applications on Tuesday and Wednesday as well.

Besides, independent aspirant Imran H Sarkar (Kurigram-4), whose nomination paper was rejected, came to the EC secretariat to know the procedure of the appeal submission.

While talking to reporters at his office, EC secretary Helal Uddin Ahmad said the rejected candidates will be able to appeal with election commission.

"Even if any aspirant is not happy here (with the decisions of the EC), he/she can also go to court," he added.

During the scrutiny on Sunday, returning officers rejected a total of 786 nomination papers and accepted 2,279 submitted in the countrys 300 constituencies to contest the 11th national election scheduled for 30 December.

Only aggrieved candidates or the banks concerned can file appeals with the EC by 5 pm on Wednesday (5 December) challenging the decisions of the returning officers over nomination papers.

An aspirant or an authorised person can submit the petition addressing the EC secretary.

Seven copies of each application, including the main one, will have to be submitted.

The EC will dispose of the appeals by 8 December following hearings to be held at the EC Secretariat on 6-8 December.

The last date for the withdrawal of candidature is 9 December, while the election symbols will be allocated among candidates on 10 December.

Immediately after having the electoral symbol allocated, the candidates will be allowed to conduct campaign to woo voters in the 30 December parliamentary elections.