Please Share If You Like This News

Buffer Digg Facebook Google LinkedIn Pinterest Print Reddit StumbleUpon Tumblr Twitter VK Yummly

Mominul Haque and Mushfiqur Rahim have scored scored centuries in a record-breaking partnership on the first day of the Test against Zimbabwe in Dhaka. The massive fourth-wicket stand took the Tigers to 303/5 at the end of the first day. It was Mominul’s seventh Test century and Mushfiq is sixth. Mominul was also involved in the previous partnership to hold the record - the 180 he posted alongside Liton Das in Chattogram at the beginning of this year. Prior to that the record partnership was 132-runs and was held by Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan. - A home for your website

The team got off to a shaky start on Sunday after winning the toss and choosing to bat.

Liton Das, Imrul Kayes and Mohammad Mithun were dismissed in quick succession, leaving Bangladesh at 26/3.

But, at the end of 86 overs, the partnership between Mushfiq and Mominul left Bangladesh firmly in charge at 292/4.

Mominul was finally dismissed by Tendai Chatara in the 86th over after scoring 161.

Night watchman Taijul Islam was dismissed soon afterwards, leading captain Mahmudullah to take the field before the end of play.

Zimbabwean pacer Kyle Jarvis picked up the wickets of Das, Kayes and Taijul while Donald Tiripano took that of Mohammad Mithun.

The Tigers are looking for redemption after losing the Sylhet Test by 151 runs.

Syed Khaled Ahmed and Mohammad Mithun are making their debuts in the match, while Mustafizur Rahman is returning to the squad. The left-handed pacer played his last match in February against Sri Lanka in Dhaka.

The three will replace Pacer Abu Jayed, left-handed batsman Nazmul Hossain Shanto and left-handed spinner Nazmul Hossain Apu, who played the first Test.

Bangladesh, who played the first match with one pacer, have beefed up their attack with the addition of Mustafizur. He will team with Khaled, while spinner Taijul Islam, who took 11 wickets in the Sylhet Test, will continue his partnership with the spin bowling of Mehidy Hasan Miraz.

Bangladesh: Mahmuddulah, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Ariful Haque, Mohammad Mithun, Mustafizur Rahman.