Please Share If You Like This News

Buffer Digg Facebook Google LinkedIn Pinterest Print Reddit StumbleUpon Tumblr Twitter VK Yummly

For the first time in history, parliament on Wednesday elected Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury the Speaker for the third consecutive term. - A home for your website

The attending MPs of the newly-formed 11th Jatiya Sangsad unanimously elected Dr Chaudhury, the lone candidate, by voice vote as Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Miah, who was presiding the session, placed it for endorsement.

The MPs, including Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, shouted ’yes’ in favour of the proposal made by Awami League general secretary Obaidul Quader and seconded by Chief Whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury.

Presided over by Fazle Rabbi Miah, the assembly starts the Speaker election on the first day of the opening session of the 11th parliament formed through the December-30 general election.

The maiden session of the new parliament began at 3pm with Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Miah in the chair as the outgoing Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury was the Speaker candidate.

Immediately after the election, the sitting was adjourned for 20 minutes.

Report by - //

Facebook Comments