Please Share If You Like This News

Buffer Digg Facebook Google LinkedIn Pinterest Print Reddit StumbleUpon Tumblr Twitter VK Yummly

The BNP yesterday submitted a list of 298 candidates, including partners of its two alliances, Jatiya Oikyafront and 20-party alliance, to the Election Commission.Signed by BNP chairperson’s private secretary ABM Abdus Sattar, the list mentioned the names of registered political parties along with their candidates but the candidates from unregistered political parties, including the Jamaat, were shown as those of the BNP. - A home for your website

The BNP fielded its own candidates in 242 constituencies while it shared 58 seats with its partners of which 56 will contest with sheaf of paddy — the election symbol of the BNP — and rest two on their respective poll symbols.

Of the two, Col (Retd) Oli Ahmed of LDP will take part in the election from Chattogram-14 constituency with his

party symbol umbrella and Hamidur Rahman Azad of Jamaat as an independent candidate from Cox s Bazar-2 constituency. Of the shared seats among the BNP-led alliances, Bangladesh Jamaat-e-Islami obtained the highest number of 22 seats; Dr Kamal Hossain-led Ganaforum obtained seven seats, ASM Abdur Rab-led JSD, Mahmudur Rahman-led Nagarik Oikya and Bangabir Kader Siddique-led BKSJL four seats each.

In the 20-party alliance LDP got five, Jamiyat-e-Ulamay-e-Islam three, Khelafat Majlish and Jatiya Party (Kazi Zafar) two seats each, and BJP, Kalyan Party, NPP, Labour Party and PPB one seat each.

Boycotting the January 5, 2014 elections, BNP is taking part in the elections. This is for the first time BNP is going to election with its chairperson Khaleda Zia in jail in two corruption cases.

Khaleda had submitted nominations to contest the elections from three constituencies — Feni-1, Bogura-6 and Bogura-7. However all of her nomination papers were rejected as a person sentenced to more than two years in jail and is constitutionally barred from running for parliament.

Finally, the BNP fielded alternative candidates in the three seats with Munshi Rafiqul Islam in Feni-1, Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir in Bogura-6 and Morshed in Bogura-7. Of the BNP leaders both secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir and standing committee member Dr Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain will contest the polls from two constituencies each.

The BNP, however, will extend support to the candidates and did not field any candidate in the two seats.

Earlier in the day, the party submitted a list of 26 alliance candidates to the EC, saying that they would contest the 11th parliamentary polls with sheaf of paddy.

BNP chairperson s media wing officer Shairul Kabir Khan submitted the list of 26 candidates belonging to eight registered political parties of the two alliances informing that they would contest the polls with the sheaf of paddy.

Of them, there are seven candidates of the Ganaforum, four each of LDP, JSD and Krishak Sramik Janata League, three of Jamiyat-e-Ulamay-e- Islam, two of Khelafat Majlish and one each of Kalyan Party and Bangladesh Jatiya Party.

This time, all the 28 registered and unregistered political parties under the banner of Jatiya Oikyafront and 20-party alliance decided to take part in the December 30 election with the BNP symbol.

The BNP delayed in disclosing the names of the final candidates of the party and its partners in both the Jatiya Oikyafront and 20-party alliance as it failed to reach an understanding with some of its allies, including Jamaat-e-Islami and faced the wrath of the disgruntled aspirants.

The supporters of some party aspirants yesterday continued staging demonstration in front of the BNP chairperson s political office in Gulshan for the third consecutive day. The party made some changes to its list of candidates announced before.

The ruling Awami League also yesterday announced the names of all of its final party candidates leaving 29 seats for the Jatiya Party (Ershad) and 14 seats to rest of the grand alliance partners, including Bikalpadhara.

The 26 alliance candidates of the eight registered political parties who will contest the polls with the sheaf of paddy are: Ganaforum leaders AMSA Amin from Kurigram-2, Prof Abu Sayed from Pabna-1, AHM Khalequzzaman from Mymensingh-8, Subrata Chowdhury from Dhaka-6, Mostafa Mohsin Montu from Dhaka-7, Sultan Mohammed Mansur from Moulvibazar-2 and Reza Kibria from Habiganj-1 constituencies.

LDP leaders Syed Mahmud Morshed will contest the polls from Mymensingh-10 while Rezwan Ahmed from Cumilla-7, Md Shahdat Hossain from Luxmipur-1, Nurul Alam from Chattogram-7 constituencies.

ASM Abdur Rab of JSD will contest the polls from Luxmipur-4, Prof Saiful Islam from Kishoreganj-3, Shahiduddin Mahmud from Dhaka-18 and Abdul Malek Ratan from Cumilla-4 constituencies.

Jamiyat-e-Ulamay-e-Islam candidates, Monir Hossain will contest the polls from Narayanganj-4, Shahinur Rahman Pasha from Sunamganj-3, and Obaidullah Faruk will contest from Sylhet-5 constituencies.

Besides, BKSJL candidates Mohammed Liakat Ali will contest the polls from Tangail-4, Kuri Siddique from Tangail-8, Iqbal Siddique from Gazipur-3 and Monjurul Islam from Natore-1 constituencies. Abdul Basid Azad of Khelafat Majlish will contest the polls from Habiganj-2 and Ahmed Abdul Quader from Habiganj-4 constituencies. Syed Mohammed Ibrahim of Kalyan Party will take part in the poll from Chattogram-5 and Andalib Rahman Partha of BJP from Dhaka-17 constituencies.

Shairul Kabir told reporters that the list of other candidates of the party and alliance candidates had been sent to the returning officers concerned.

The unregistered political parties in the two alliance, including Jamaat-e-Islami, are taking part in the elections with the sheaf of paddy and under the banner of BNP.

The candidates will receive their poll symbols today and start campaigning for the election.