Please Share If You Like This News

Buffer Digg Facebook Google LinkedIn Pinterest Print Reddit StumbleUpon Tumblr Twitter VK Yummly

The Awami League (AL) yesterday (Saturday) announced the names of its chairman contenders for the coming first phase Upazila Parishad elections, scheduled to be held on March 10. Elections to 87 upazila parishads will be held in the first phase. AL general secretary, Obaidul Quader, announced the names of party candidates at a press conference at Sheikh Hasina’s Dhanmondi political office in the city. He said the party had chosen candidates only for the post of Upazila Chairman. - A home for your website

The vice-chairman’s posts will be open for all. After announcing the names, Quader, also Road Transport and Bridges Minister, called upon all chairman candidates to work in their respective upazilas to ensure victory.

He said party president and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina finalised the names of candidates at a joint meeting of the party’s parliamentary board and its local government

nomination board, held at her official residence Ganabhaban on Friday.

Earlier, the Election Commission had said the fifth Upazila Parishad elections will be held in five phases from March 10.

The last date for submitting nomination papers for the first phase of UZ polls is February 11, and that of withdrawal

February 19. The first phase of the local body polls will be held in all upazilas of Panchagarh, Kurigram, Nilphamari, Lalmonirhat and Rangpur in Rangpur division, all upazilas in Jamalpur and all upazilas in Netrakona, except Atpara in Mymensingh division, all upazilas in Sunamganj, except Jagannathpur and all upazilas in Habiganj, except Shayestaganj, in Sylhet division, and all upazilas in Sirajganj, Joypurhat, Natore and Rajshahi in Rajshahi division.

The second phase of the election is slated for March 18, the third for March 24, the fourth for March 31 and the fifth for June 18.