Please Share If You Like This News

Buffer Digg Facebook Google LinkedIn Pinterest Print Reddit StumbleUpon Tumblr Twitter VK Yummly

A total of 272 candidates are going to contest the 11th parliamentary elections with Boat, Awami League is electoral symbol, while 298 with BNP is polls symbol Sheaf of Paddy.Out of total 300 constituencies, Awami League has fielded its own candidates in 258 while shared the rest 42 with its partners from the Grand Alliance. - A home for your website

BNP has shared 58 seats with its partners from the Jatiya Oikya Front and the 20-party alliances and fielded its own candidates in 242 parliamentary seats.


The ruling party has kept aside 27 constituencies for Jatiya Party while five for Bangladesh Workers Party, three each for Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Jasod) and Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh, two for Tarikat Federation, and one each for Jatiya party (JP-led by Manju) and Bangladesh Federation.


Of them, HM Ershad-led Jatiya Party will contest the election with its own symbol Plough and Jatiya Party (JP) with its own symbol Bicycle in the polls.

Awami League on Sunday afternoon sent the list of its 258 final candidates to the Election Commission.


It also sent another list of candidates from its partners except Jatiya Party informing that 14 contenders will also vie the polls with the Boat symbol, while two JP candidates -- its chairman Anwar Hossain Manju for Pirojpur-2 and Md Ruhul Amin for Kurigram-4 -- will run the election with Bicycle symbol.


However, AL candidate Zakir Hossain will also contest with Boat in Kurigram-4, according to the AL s list.


Earlier in the day, Jatiya Party informed the EC that it will contest the election in 29 constituencies as a partner of the Grand Alliance and independently in 158 other parliamentary seats.


A Jatiya Party delegation, led by its presidium member SM Foysal Chisti, submitted the list of its candidates to the EC.


As per the Jatiya Party s list, the 29 Jatiya Party candidates who run under the Awami League-led Grand Alliance are HM Ershad for Rangpur-3, Raushon Ershad for Mymensingh-4, GM Quader for Lalmonirhat-3, Moshiur Rahman Ranga for Rangpur-1, Rana Mohammad Sohel for Nilphamari-3, Ahsan Adilur Rahman for Nilphamari-4, AKM Mostafizur Rahman for Kurigram-1, Panir Uddin Ahmed for Kurigram-2, Shamim Haider Patwary for Gaibandha-1, Shariful Islam Jennah for Bogura-2, Nurul Islam Talukder for Bogura-3, Nurul Islam Omar for Bogura-6, Altaf Ali Bogura-7, Golam Kibria Tipu for Barishal-3, Nasrin Jahan Ratna for Barishal-6, Rustum Ali Faraji for Patuakhali-3, Shafiullah Al Monir for Tangail-5, Fakhrul Imam for Mymensingh-8, Mujibul Haque Chunnu for Kishoreganj-3, Syed Abu Hossain Babla for Dhaka-4, Kazi Firoze Rashid for Dhaka-6, Liakat Hossain Khoka for Narayanganj-3, Salim Osman for Narayanganj-5, Pir Fazlur Rahman for Sunamganj-4, Yahya Chowdhury for Sylhet-2, Ziaul Haque Mridha for Brahmanbaria-2, Masud Uddin Chowdhury for Feni-3, M Noman for Lakshmipur-2 and Anisul Islam Mahmud for Chattogram-5.


However, AL candidate Aslam Hossain Sawdagar alongside the Jatiya Party candidate is taking part in the election from Kurigram-1, while Workers Party candidate Tipu Sultan is vying with Boat symbol alongside Jatiya Party s Golam Kibria Tipu in Barishal-3, as per the two separate lists submitted by AL and Jatiya Party.


The 16 candidates of AL s other partners include Workers Party s Rashed Khan Menon for Dhaka-8, Elias Ali for Thakurgaon-3, Fazle Hossain Badsha for Rajshahi-2, Mustafa Lutfullah for Satkhira-1 and Tipu Sultan for Barishal-3, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal s (Jasod) Hasanul Haq Inu for Kushtia-2, Shirin Akter for Feni-1 and AKM Rezaul Karim Tansen for Bogura-4, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh s Mahi B Chowdhury for Munshiganj-1, MM Shaheen for Moulvibazar-2 and Abdul Mannan for Lakshmipur-4, Tarikat Federation s Syed Nazibul Bashar Maizvandary for Chattogram-2 and Anwar Hossain for Lakshmipur-1, Jatiya Party s (Manju) Anwar Hossain for Pirojpur-2 and M Ruhul Amin for Kurigram-4, and Bangladesh Jasod s Moyeenuddin Khan Badal for Chattogram-8.


Though BNP shared 58 seats with its partners, 56 of them are contesting the polls with the Sheaf of Paddy symbol.


Col (retd) Oli Ahmed, chairman of Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), a partner of BNP, is running the polls with his party s symbol Umbrella from Chattogram-14.


BNP also did not inform the EC about its candidate for Cox s Bazar-2, leaving the parliamentary seat for Bangladesh Jamaat-e-Islami leader AHM Hamidur Rahman Azad who is contesting as an independent candidate. So, there is no Sheaf of Paddy in the constituency.


Of the 58 seats, BNP shared 22 with Jamaat, seven with Dr Kamal Hossain-led Gano Forum while four each with ASM Abdur Rob-led Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD), Kader Siddiqui-led Krishak Sramik Janata League (KSJL) and Mahmudur Rahman Manna-led Nagorik Oikya, five with LDP, three with Jamiat-e Ulema-e-Islam, two each with Khelafat Majlish and Jatiya Party (Zafar), and one each with Bangladesh Kalyan Party and Bangladesh Jatiya Party (BJP), Labour Party, National People s Party (NPP) and Peoples Party of Bangladesh.


The seven Gano Forum candidates are Subrata Chowdhury (Dhaka-6), Mostofa Mohsin Montu (Dhaka-7), Sultan Mohammed Mansur Ahmed (Moulvibazar-2), Reza Kibria (Habiganj-1), AHM Khalequzzaman (Mymensingh-8), AMSA Amin (Kurigram-2) and Prof Abu Sayeed (Pabna-1).


The four JSD candidates are Abdur Rob (Laxmipur-4), Abdul Malek Ratan (Cumilla-4), Shahiduddin Mahmud Swapan (Dhaka-18) and Prof Dr Muhammad Saiful Islam (Kishoreganj-3).


The four KSJL candidates are Kader Siddiqui s daughter Kuri Siddiqui (Tangail-8), Liakat Ali (Tangail-4), Iqbal Siddiqui (Gazipur-3) and Monzurul Islam Natore-1.


The candidates of Nagorik Oikya are Mahmudur Rahman Manna (Bogura-2), SM Akram (Narayanganj-5), Shah Rahmat Ullah (Rangpur-1) and Nurur Rahman Jahangir (Barishal-8).


The five LDP contenders are Oli Ahmed (Chattogram-14), Syed Mahmud Morshed (Mymensingh-10), Redwan Ahmed (Cumilla-7), M Shahadat Hossain (Lakshmipur-1) and Nurul Alam (Chattogram-7).


The three Jamiat-e Ulema-e-Islam contestants who will be there in the election with BNP s symbol are Monir Hossain (Narayanganj-4), Md Shahinur Pasha Chowdhury (Sunamganj-3) and Ubaidullah Faruk (Sylhet-5).


The two Khelafat Majlish candidates are Abdul Basit Azad (Habiganj-2) and Ahmed Abdul Kader (Habiganj-4).


Jatiya Party (Zafar) leaders TI Fazle Rabbi and Ahshan Habib Linkon are in the election race from Gaibandha-3 and Kushtia-2 constituencies respectively with the BNP s symbol.


Besides, Jamaat candidates are vying with Sheaf of Paddy symbol in the election.