Please Share If You Like This News

Buffer Digg Facebook Google LinkedIn Pinterest Print Reddit StumbleUpon Tumblr Twitter VK Yummly

India opener Rohit Sharma hit his fourth century of the World Cup as Virat Kohli is side booked their place in the semifinals with a 28-run win over Bangladesh at Edgbaston yesterday. The defeat leaves Bangladesh with 7 points in 8 matches, effectively erasing all their chances of qulifying for the World Cup semifinals. - A home for your website

Sharma’s attacking 104 laid the foundation of India’s 314 for nine after Kohli elected to bat first in India’s penultimate match of the league phase. Yet for the second match in a row Sharma -- as happened during India’s 31-run defeat by England at Edgbaston on Sunday -- was dropped in single figures by Tamim Iqbal before making a hundred.

India’s bowlers then combined to dismiss Bangladesh for 286 with two overs to spare after star batsman Shakib Al Hasan top-scored with a valiant 66.

Jasprit Bumrah bowled brillliantly and took four wickets and fellow paceman Hardik Pandya three, including the prize scalp of Shakib.

After impressive wins over South Africa and the West Indies, Bangladesh’s slim hopes of a place in the last four ended with the defeat against India.

The day belonged to the in-form Sharma, who played an attacking knock, hitting seven fours and five sixes in his 92-ball innings while being cheered on by another largely pro-India crowd in Birmingham.

Sharma and opening partner KL Rahul put on 180 -- the highest stand for the first wicket in the tournament -- to get India off to a flying start.

But Sharma should have been out for nine only for Tamim Iqbal to drop a simple catch at deep midwicket following a mistimed pull off paceman Mustafizur Rahman.

Sharma was finally was caught at extra cover by Liton Das off the bowling of Soumya Sarkar and Rahul, who filled an opener’s slot following an injury to Shikhar Dhawan, was caught behind off Rubel Hossain for 77.

Mustafizur took five wickets, including star batsman Kohli for 26, to check India’s surge.

The paceman struck twice in the space of three balls to dismiss both Kohli and Pandya.

Rishabh Pant once again showed his worth at the number four position with a brisk 48, using the short boundary at one side of Edgbaston to his advantage.

M S Dhoni, who received flak for

his slow innings in India’s defeat by England on Sunday -- their only loss so far this tournament -- chipped in with a 33-ball 35.

Paceman Mohammed Shami struck early in Bangladesh’s reply when Tamim, who made 22, chopped the ball onto his stumps.

Shakib struck his sixth fifty-plus score that includes two hundreds to keep Bangladesh in hunt.

But Pandya’s second spell saw the all-rounder account for Liton and Shakib to leave Bangladesh struggling at 179-6 in the 34th over.

Shakib, who has been Bangladesh’s go-to man, played well for his 46th ODI fifty but was undone by a slower ball and caught at extra cover.

Mohammad Saifuddin made an unbeaten 51 only to run out of partners as Bumrah ended the match with two wickets in successive deliveries.

Bangladesh face Pakistan in their last group match at Lord’s on Friday.

India meet Sri Lanka on the final day of the round-robin phase on Saturday.

This was the fourth time the two teams met in a World Cup encounter.

While the last three contests were dominated by the blues, the first encounter in 2007 World Cup saw the Tigers get the upper hand, beating India by 5 wickets.


India innings:

KL Rahul c Mushfiqur b Rubel 77

R Sharma c Liton b Soumya 104

V Kohli c Rubel b Mustafizur 26

R Pant c Mosaddek b Shakib 48

H Pandya c Soumya b Mustafizur 0

M Dhoni c Shakib b Mustafizur 35

D Karthik c Mosaddek b Mustafizur 8

B Kumar run out (Mushfiqur/Mustafizur) 2

M Shami b Mustafizur 1

J Bumrah not out 0

Extras: (lb6, nb1, w6) 13

Total: (9 wickets, 50 overs) 314

Did not bat: Y Chahal

Fall of wickets: 1-180, 2-195, 3-237, 4-237, 5-277, 6-298, 7-311, 8-314, 9-314


Mortaza 5 0 36 0

Saifuddin 7 0 59 0

Mustafizur 10 1 59 5

Shakib 10 0 41 1

Mosaddek 4 0 32 0

Rubel 8 0 48 1

Soumya 6 0 33 1

Bangladesh innings:

Tamim Iqbal b Shami 22

Soumya Sarkar c Kohli b Pandya 33

Shakib Al Hasan c Karthik b Pandya 66

Mushfiqur Rahim c Shami b Chahal 24

Liton Das c Karthik b Pandya 22

Mosaddek Hossain b Bumrah 3

Sabbir Rahman b Bumrah 36

Mohammad Saifuddin not out 51

Mashrafe Mortaza c Dhoni b Kumar 8

Rubel Hossain b Bumrah 9

Mustafizur Rahman b Bumrah 0

Extras: (b1, lb1, w10) 12

Total: (all out, 48 overs) 286

Fall of wickets: 1-39, 2-74, 3-121, 4-162, 5-173, 6-179, 7-245, 8-257, 9-286, 10-286


Kumar 9 1 51 1

Bumrah 10 1 55 4

Shami 9 0 68 1

Chahal 10 0 50 1

Pandya 10 0 60 3

Result: India won by 28 runs

Man-of-the-match: Rohit Sharma

Report by - //

Facebook Comments