Please Share If You Like This News

Buffer Digg Facebook Google LinkedIn Pinterest Print Reddit StumbleUpon Tumblr Twitter VK Yummly

A court in Pabna sentenced nine BNP activists to death and jailed 25 others for life on Wednesday for attacking a train carrying then opposition leader Sheikh Hasina in 1994. - A home for your website

Additional District and Sessions Judge Rustom Ali, delivering the verdict in a packed courtroom in the morning, also sentenced 13 others to 10 years in jail.

Those sentenced to death are - BNP’s Ishwardi municipality unit General Secretary Zakaria Pintu, former municipality unit chief Mokhlesur Rahman Bablu, former general secretary Akhteruzzaman Akhter, former chief of Chhatra Dal’s Ishwardi upazila unit Rezaul Karim Shaheen, Shahidul Islam, Mahbubur Rahman, Mostafa Nur-e-Alam Shyamal, Azizur Rahman Shahin and Shamsul Alam.

Those handed down life imprisonment are - Al Amin, Islam Hossain Jewel, Khokon, Alauddin Biswas, Shimu, Anis Shekhon, Nurul Islam, Akkel Ali, Robi, Enam, Kollol, Kala Babu, Mamun, Selim Ahmed, Mamunur Rahman, Tuhin, Liton, Abdullah Al Mamun Ripon, Laizu, Abdul Zabbar, Abdul Hakim Tenu, Abul Kalam, Alamgir Hossain, Palash and Payel.

Thirteen others sentenced to ten years’ imprisonment are - Raju, Bablu, Anwar Hosain Jony, Barkat, Mukta, Mukul, Dulal Sadar, Zamrul, Tuhin Bin Siddique, Maula, Fazlur Rashmna, Abdul Barik and Rustom.

Advocate Aktaruzzaman Mukta represented the state while Advocate Nurul Islam stood for the accused.

A Rajshahi-bound train carrying Sheikh Hasina was attacked at Pakshi Rail Station on September 23, 1994. The attackers fired shots and hurled bombs at the train.

Nazrul Islam, the then officer-in-charge of Ishwardi Railways Police Station, filed the case. Police pressed charges in court against 52 suspects on April 3, 1997.

Five of the accused died during trial proceedings.

Report by - //

Facebook Comments